Items marked "read" ARE NOT read -- when will we get a fix?

This is now officially irritating. I am a programmer. I can sympathize. But you have let this problem go on for too long.

When will we get a fix?

Thanks.

16 Likes

Samuel’s been sick, as he’s posted on several threads. He’s made a couple of attempts which seem to fix the problems for him. Some more specific reproduction instructions on what you are doing that causes the read articles to return to unread might help.

For what it’s worth, I have not seen this problem at *all*.

I haven’t been able to reproduce it at all, so I’m trying to figure out what the difference is. Please include a thorough way to reproduce the issue so that I can track it down. All of my systems look fine and my stats are showing other folks are marking stories as read using the web app.

I think you guys are not trying (" I have not seen this problem at *all*) very hard to duplicate the problem and find a fix.

Capture01.jpg – notice that in this image, new feed “Reuters: World News” has 40 “unread” items and the Icon to mark all items as read is active

Capture02.jpg – in this image, I have marked all items in “Reuters: World News” as read, but the sidebar still shows 40 items as “unread”. The active pane shows all 40 items marked as “read” and the icon to mark all items as read has disappeared.

Capture03.jpg – in this image, I have moved focus to another news feed. The feed for “Reuters: World News” still shows 40 UNREAD items in the sidebar.

Capture04.jpg – in this image, I have re-focussed on “Reuters: World News”, and we see that the same items that were marked as read have now re-appeared as “not read”, exactly like the list in capture01.jpg.

You need to work with your test bench PC’s to duplicate this asap and find a fix. Create a new virtual machine on one of your dev PC’s and install Firefox from scratch. Use my log-in on your virtual machine if you wish.