text only view

hi everyone,
I’m new to NewsBlur.

looks good so far but as always there’s a few things that I’d like to have. some of them are already mentioned and planned and one I’ve not found mentioned so far.

first I’d like to add my +1 to some planned features:

• ssl (for everything, premium is fine)

• mark read/unread toggle button and two next buttons one “next with mark read” and one “next without status change” would be something I’d like

• show oldest post first and have a toggle button to hide the ones that have been marked read (Brief extension for Firefox does it like that and I think it works well)

and then something that might be a new idea:

• a text only view, like the ones that Instapaper and Read it Later have. parse the story page to extract the text and show only that with some settings for style (font size, color, background color…). maybe use an existing parser, don’t know if Instapaper or someone has their parsers open sourced.

I’d really love an uncluttered text view with only the essentials. most of the time I’m not interested in pictures, videos, advertising, links to whatever else there is on the page. I only want to read the news in a blink and flash and picture free manner, with the style settings I like and find easiest to read.

just my 2€cent

thanks for the program and service as is. it’s greatly appreciated.
Idefix

5 Likes
  • SSL is coming at some point. I want to get some more features out first.
  • Mark unread is also coming, but it’s been discussed in much greater depth here: http://getsatisfaction.com/newsblur/t…
  • Oldest post first is part of my next big feature set – customizations.