Reading from old to new.

How can I change the order of articles from older to newer? Right now, I’m reading stories in reverse-chronological order.

60 Likes

I would really like to see this configurable on a per-feed basis.

This will be a configurable option in a set of larger custom views I’m planning to build later this summer. It’s a toss-up between building mobile and building this, but it’s next on the priority list. I need to figure out what a good UI would be for this, since it’s a bit more work to find the oldest unread story.

2 Likes

FYI, you can do it for any feed with this nifty tool: http://rss-tools.overgrid.com/?page_id=6

1 Like

I just signed up to newsblur and opted to go Premium (at $36/year) because I hate the new Google reader re-design.

Then I discovered I can’t sort in regular, chronological, oldest first order.

Honestly, this is a deal breaker for me.

I simply cannot use it without this feature.

I’m a coder, so I’m gonna take a peek at the source code on github.

1 Like

Oh, I did want to mention that you’ve done a great job so far on the NewsBlur. Even more impressive that it’s your “free time” project. You are about to get a lot more users thanks to the Google reader fiasco. I’d love to see a blog post in a few weeks showing some fun graphs of new user growth since the reader redesign :slight_smile:

It’s not the easiest thing to do. In order to read from oldest to newest I have to use a map reduce, which is a slower operation than regular feed opens by an order of magnitude. And if you want to read old to new, you would be at the business end of this map reduce every single page, which would suck. I might just build it anyways and either make it feed-specific, or just let you know right there in Preferences that it is quite a bit slower, but you’re free to use it. I’m going to prioritize it for this month.