Android app loses some state when unused for a while (maybe when removed from memory)

I frequently get interrupted when reading a story in the android app. If I switch back to the app quickly then things are normally fine. But if I take longer to return I often get the frame around the content of the story but just a loading indicator where the story normally is, and the story never loads. Further, if I try to open the original page in the browser I get the page for a different story. Even more strangely, when I press the back button I’m taken back to the list of feeds, not the list of stories in this feed. The story is marked as read so I wind up leaving lots of stories unfinished.

I was an engineer on the Android team way back before it launched, so I’ll venture a guess about what’s happening: when the phone is low on memory it evicts your process from memory. When I return to the app the activity is asked to restore from its saved state and it does this incorrectly.

2 Likes

Yeah I definitely want to solve this problem. iOS does a great job of holding onto the app, even though it technically suffers from the same issue. The other issue is that I think it should reset you after N hours. On iOS it’s about 6 hours. 

Daniel, are we doing any state restoration today, and if not, how hard would it be to save the active story and feed? We don’t even have to do scroll position, although that would be nice as well. Scroll position shipped on iOS a year ago but it didn’t work reliably until just a few months ago.