# If I delete a folder, will that delete the feeds within that folder?

**URL:** <https://forum.newsblur.com/t/if-i-delete-a-folder-will-that-delete-the-feeds-within-that-folder/877>\
**Category:** question\
**Created:** [September 26, 2012, 12:16am UTC](https://forum.newsblur.com/t/if-i-delete-a-folder-will-that-delete-the-feeds-within-that-folder/877 "2012-09-26T00:16:00Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 3\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![mtaylor](https://forum.newsblur.com/user_avatar/forum.newsblur.com/mtaylor/32/104_2.png) [@mtaylor](https://forum.newsblur.com/u/mtaylor)\
**Post date:** [September 26, 2012, 12:16am UTC](https://forum.newsblur.com/t/if-i-delete-a-folder-will-that-delete-the-feeds-within-that-folder/877/1 "2012-09-26T00:16:00Z")

</div>

I have some feeds in a folder from my Google Reader import, but now I’d rather have them all on the top level. If I delete the folder, does that delete the feeds inside it?

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![adrian.fita](https://forum.newsblur.com/letter_avatar_proxy/v4/letter/a/eb8c5e/32.png) [@adrian.fita](https://forum.newsblur.com/u/adrian.fita)\
**Post date:** [September 26, 2012, 11:49am UTC](https://forum.newsblur.com/t/if-i-delete-a-folder-will-that-delete-the-feeds-within-that-folder/877/2 "2012-09-26T11:49:00Z")

</div>

Yes, When you delete a folder, all the feeds within it are deleted as well. I deleted by mistake a folder with a lot of feeds in it once. It wasn’t a pleasant experience, let me tell you. I had to re-add those feeds from a backup.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![samuelclay](https://forum.newsblur.com/user_avatar/forum.newsblur.com/samuelclay/32/857_2.png) [@samuelclay](https://forum.newsblur.com/u/samuelclay)\
**Post date:** [October 2, 2012, 12:11am UTC](https://forum.newsblur.com/t/if-i-delete-a-folder-will-that-delete-the-feeds-within-that-folder/877/3 "2012-10-02T00:11:00Z")

</div>

Yeah, you’ll just have to move those sites to the top level manually. Deleting a folder really does delete its contents, just like in Finder/Explorer.
