Few woes, idea with/for newsblur

So… I really _want_ to like Newsblur. I’ve been using Google Reader since 2005, I have currently 575 subscriptions. Ever since they killed sharing, and had that facelift, I want to find an alternative, but there are a few things in NewsBlur that still bothers me:

• Screen estate. Would it be possible to somewhat replicate Reader’s expanded view, with no item list? I’m the guy who reads his feeds 99% the time with All Items, Expanded view. But the item list on top/bottom/left bothers me, because it takes up a lot of screen estate, and I don’t really need to see it. I know I can resize it but then it looks just weird.
  • Sharing. I can see you’ve already added a number of popular services, would it be possible to add Posterous? That’s the service I (and a few friends of mine) currently use for sharing stuff.
  • PubSubHubBub. It is said that the paid account refreshes the feeds ‘10x faster’ but will it support PuSH? Realtime feeds are awesome.
  • Speed. I do find that Reader loads everything way faster at the moment, even though it’s slower than it is used to be.
  • Intelligence Traning. I know it’s one of the core features but would it be possible to hide it entirelly?

Thanks, and kudos for the project, it is awesome that other people are working on great alternative RSS readers.

1 Like

I agree with the last 3 points entirely. Live feeds would be fantastic. Speed seems like it’s always an issue, or at least frequently-intermittently (happens regularly.) I still have no idea what the intelligence training is and kind of don’t know if I should care – at the end of the day I just want to read all of my stories.

Screen estate is important too, and I’ve never been good at sharing :stuck_out_tongue: